Music Menu // Albums To Listen To When Studying

Usually Music Menu installments happen at the end of every month, but this time make we’ll make a little exception. At the moment, I’m in my last week of university – still shocked about that realization – and my days are filled with studying, finishing projects, designing academic posters (how academic is one’s academic poster when the main color is a bright pink?), writing essays and arranging everything to be able to graduate.

During these crazy busy times, I feel it’s essential to have the right soundtrack. Some people don’t like to listen to music while studying or working, but I really prefer to have some subtle background music on. While working, I love to listen to podcasts, because for some reason they really inspire and motivate me to work, and at the moment I’m really enjoying the At Home With… series from Lily Pebbles and Anna Gardner. But when I really need to sit down and focus on my studies, I always listen to soundtracks, and the following three are my current favorites:

// Westworld: Season 1 (2016) – Ramin Djawadi

I usually listen to the Westworld soundtrack when I really need to do some hardcore studying. This week I had my deadline for my Big Final Project (it needs capital letters, that’s how big my final project is) and I needed all the focus I could get. Westworld‘s music is quite dark and gloomy, which makes it sound very serious and then makes me work very seriously. The soundtrack also includes instrumental covers of tracks such as “Black Hole Sun” from Soundgarden, “Paint It Black” from The Rolling Stones” and “A Forest” by The Cure.

// The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014) – Alexandre Desplat

The soundtrack of The Grand Budapest Hotel is perfect for when you don’t necessarily need to be super focused, because it sounds just a little bit funkier. Just like the film, the soundtrack sounds dreamy and whimsical, which works great for me when I’m working on a more practical project, such as designing an academic poster or setting up a study plan.

// Far From The Madding Crowd (2015) – Craig Armstrong

The final soundtrack I love to listen to when studying is Far From The Madding Crowd, which is the perfect middle ground between the previous two. This soundtrack is very calm and features a lot of piano and string sounds, which is great if you just need some relaxing music playing in the background.

Love,

Leave a Reply

