Music Menu #1 // January 2017

A couple of years ago, I started a rather ambitions musical project. Music is one of the great loves of my life, even though I do not possess any kind of musical talent. Instead, I love to collect, listen and experience music in any way I can. One way is creating a yearly playlist, in which I add one track per day. I started this back in 2014 and in true hipster-fashion I named it “mixtape 2014” and I started collecting my musical year. At the end of the 12 months, I had a beautiful overview of my entire year, but then in songs.

In the trend of new year’s resolutions, I started a new Mixtape 2017 and I’m very proud to inform you that I have kept up with adding one song for every day (I’m just ignoring the fact that we’re only 1 month into 2017). On Almost Famous Writer, I want to introduce a new series called “Music Menu”, in which I highlight 5 tracks at the end of each month, that I have added to my playlist and absolutely loved.

// Ed Sheeran – “Shape of You”

By using a clever so-called “millennial marketing” ruse, British singer-songwriter Ed Sheeran stormed charts all over the world. Just earlier this month, he dropped not one, but two, single bombs, “Castle On The Hill” and “Shape of You”. I’m not really a big fan of the first single, as I think it’s not that refreshing, but I have been listening to his second single non stop. It’s super catchy, incredibly danceable (I shall admit, my dishes do not clean themselves any faster while listening to this track) and something really surprising and different from Ed Sheeran.

// The xx – “Hold On”

Ed Sheeran may have dropped two new tracks, but The xx have released a full-blown new album earlier this month. It’s either ominously or romantically called “I See You” and I have been immensely enjoying it ever since its release. “On Hold” is definitely one of my favorite new tracks, with its dreamy yet trippy sound.

// La La Land – “City of Stars”

Last week, the Oscar nominations were revealed and, perhaps not completely unexpectedly, “La La Land” received a staggering amount of 14 (!) nominations. One of those nominations was for the film’s soundtrack, specifically the song “City of Stars”. I have been singing along to Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone until I fooled myself into believing I could actually sing.

// CUT_ – “Undertow”

One of my more recent discoveries is CUT_, the creator of dreamy, intricate electronic tracks. “Undertow” is their latest single and definitely worth a listen if you love Oscar & The Wolf and Thomas Azier.

// VAULTS – “Hunger of the Pine” (Jody Wisternoff & James Grant remix)

Speaking of recent discoveries, I recently stumbled upon this track and immediately was enamored with it. It’s a bit of a complicated track, as it’s a cover from a song by Alt-J, now performed by VAULTS and finally remixed by Jody Wisternoff and James Grant. The puzzle is complicated, but the result is stunning. The hypnotic lyrics from Alt-J match perfectly with the vocals from VAULTS and the final ingredient of strings completely finish the track.

Love,

autograph

Leave a Reply

