The Honest Hour #6 // An Ode To Gilmore Girls

Probably everyone who knows me, knows I love the TV show Gilmore Girls with all of my heart, body and soul. For years I have followed the story of young and single mother Lorelai Gilmore (Lauren Graham) and her shy, bookwormish daughter Rory (Alexis Bledel). The two are best friends, sharing everything from blowdryers, pop tarts and life advice, and live in a slightly eccentric little town called Stars Hollow. Rory dreams of attending Harvard University and becoming a journalist, while Lorelai wants to own her own inn some day with her best friend Sookie (Melissa McCarthy). For 7 full seasons, Lorelai and Rory have evolved, made their dreams become reality, sat through a lot of Friday night dinners, and became an example for many girls and young women. This Friday, 25 November, the rebooted series premieres on Netflix and to be perfectly honest with you, I’m both nauseously excited and nervous.

Very much like Lorelai and Rory, my mom and I are best friends. We share pop tarts, a talent for gift shopping and a slightly weird sense of humor. When I need advice about something, I turn to my mom, similar to how Rory sits down and talks to Lorelai about boys, academics and friendships. My mom and I watched all 7 seasons of Gilmore Girls together on the couch, with a whole range of different snacks and drinks, just like Lorelai and Rory watch film after film and consume Twizzler after Twizzler. We started watching the show when I was still very young and almost immediately, I felt very connected to Rory, the shy and studious teenager who loved books and made about twenty pop culture references a day. Just like me, she wanted to attend university and become a journalist, a writer. Rory was ambitious and worked so hard to accomplish her dreams; she became an example to young me. I knew that if I worked hard, I would be able to do all the things I wanted to: attend university, become a reporter and write articles.

Right now I’m in my final year of university, I have been a reporter at music festivals and concerts, and I’m writing about one article a day – in many ways, I have become the example I set for myself at such a young age. But here is the funny thing: now that I have accomplished the same things as Rory, my metaphorical example, I no longer connect to her that much. Instead, I feel more and more connected to Lorelai. She’s out-going, creative, imaginative, crazy about gift-giving, ambitious, incredibly stubborn and a bit selfish at times. As I’m changing and evolving and, let’s face it, growing-up, I feel like my character and my way of expressing myself resembles Lorelai more than Rory. Of course, there’ll always be a part of me that looks at a random episode of Rory curling up with a book or proofreading articles for her university newspaper and I will completely resonate with her. Nonetheless, the fact that you as a viewer can change along with the television characters and emphasize with them, defines the connection you can have with something that is, in the end, still something completely fiction.

It should be crystal clear by now that Gilmore Girls means a lot to me. The show speaks to me on personal levels, the same way it’s connected to colorful, happy memories of sitting on the couch with my mom and eating disproportionate amounts of junk food and gobstoppers. When the news of Netflix rebooting Gilmore Girls reached me, I was both so excited to see my favorite series ever returning to the screen and completely and absolutely nauseous with nerves. What if the new episodes aren’t as good as the original ones? What if they destroy everything I love and cherish about these characters and this story? What if Gilmore Girls: A Year In The Life completely sucks? Now that I have had some time to consider this earth-shattering possibility, I have come to a conclusion. Even if the Netflix reboot completely sucks, at least I have another night with my mom, sitting on the couch, eating snacks and being together.

Gilmore Girls: A Year In The Life premieres this Friday on Netflix!

Love,

autograph

Leave a Reply

