AFW Book Club // Fall 2016

As you might have noticed, the seasonal “What To Read” article for this Fall hasn’t gone online yet. That’s because I wanted to change the format a little bit. Instead of telling my readers what to read (as eloquently directed by the title of the article), I want to introduce the Almost Famous Writer Book Club! With the start of every new season, a book club article will go online with a few books that I’m reading those couple of months. These can be books I read for university, for work or just for pleasure and the occasional magazines that inspire over the course of the season.

For this first edition, I have four books (of which most of them are brand-new releases!) that inspire and fascinate me this Fall:

// “Bloom: Navigating Life & Style” (2016) – Estée Lalonde

P1110348.jpg

When Youtube creator Estée Lalonde announced she was going to publish a book, I was skeptical at first. How would her writing be? What would she write about? Only a couple of weeks ago, my questions were answered when I ordered “Bloom: Navigating Life & Style” online. Lalonde’s writing is not exceptionally literary (who says what ‘literary’ is, anyways?), but it’s very entertaining, at times very funny and really recognizable. “Bloom” is written like a diary, full of little anecdotes, stories, advice and tips on subjects such as self-acceptance, confidence and creativity.

// “The Lesser Bohemians” (2016) – Eimar McBride

p1110349

Alright, I admit it: I initially picked up this novel because of the beautiful cover. It’s a gorgeous shade of pink with all these flowers pictured upon it and as a lover of everything pink and flowery, I simply had to pick it up. And I’m ever so glad I did, because this book is amazing. The plot seems kind of simplistic and your basic coming-of-age tale, as it’s about a young actress moving to London and exploring her sexuality, but it’s the writing style and the use of language that makes “The Lesser Bohemians” such a fascinating and captivating read. Eimar McBride has such an interesting writing style, very impressionistic and so completely different from anything that I’ve ever read (which is saying something, as I’m a literature major).

// “Love X Style X Life” (2015) – Garance Doré

p1110350

I picked up this beauty already a while ago, during my city trip to Lille, and since then I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet (it’s on my ginormous ‘to read’ pile conveniently situated right next to my bed). However, “Love x Style x Life” is already a joy to simply browse through. It’s beautifully designed, with gorgeous fashion photographs and illustrations. The book follows the story of blogger Garance Doré, as she grows into a confident, creative and smart influencer.

// “Maestra” (2016) – L.S. Hilton

p1110351

“Maestra” was released over the Summer and due to the many interviews, advertisements and displays at the book stores, I became intrigued. Then I read an interview with the author, L.S. Hilton in the newspaper and I became even more curious. “Maestra” is coined as the more intelligent, female-empowering and literary version of the infamous “Fifty Shades of Grey” trilogy. As someone who has read all three installments and thought they were mildly entertaining if not slightly cringe-worthy, I was incredibly curious to find out whether there’s such a thing as a more intelligent, female-empowering and literary version of “Fifty Shades of Grey”. I’m now half-way through the novel and, although it’s certainly super entertaining, I’m not sure whether it lives up to the premise and the hype. But the jury’s still out…

Love,

autograph

Leave a Reply

