My Capsule Wardrobe // Summer 2016

You wouldn’t say so with the rain pouring from the skies and the temperatures stubbornly staying below 20 Celsius here in the Netherlands, but Summer has indeed arrived. And with a new season comes a new wardrobe! Since last Spring I have been experimenting with the phenomenon called the “capsule wardrobe”. According to this system, you have a fixed number of tops, bottoms, coats, one-pieces and shoes – with which you can make an incredible amount of outfits together. The idea behind a capsule wardrobe is that you are fully aware of the items in your closet and the possible outfits you can create with them, thus leading to less shopping trips and less spending money (that’s the idea at least…).

If you’re interested in reading more about the capsule wardrobe itself, you can read all about right here and if you are curious about my Spring capsule wardrobe, you can find the article right here.

But now, let’s focus on this season: Summer! This season I have tried to add a little bit more color and a little bit more softness to my capsule wardrobe, plus some new items that I’ve gotten for my birthday or that I shopped along the way.

// sixteen tops

According to the capsule wardrobe system, you should have a grant total of 16 tops in your closet. These tops should include everything from tanktops to sweaters and thus I have chosen my 16 tops based on wearability and suitability with all of the other items in my closet. As you can see, I’m a big fan of tanktops during the summer and I made sure that those and all of my other tops go together with my tops, my coats and my shoes.

// six bottoms

For bottoms, 6 items should be enough according to the capsule wardrobe principle. This season I chose for two long jeans, one mini-skirt, one pair of shorts and two midi-skirts. The key to the perfect capsule wardrobe is to make everything match, so I made sure that every single one of my bottoms can be combined with a large number of my tops.

// four one-pieces

I think the original capsule wardrobe preaches a number of 3 one-pieces, which includes everything from dresses to jumpsuits, only I decided to go with 4 this season. As mentioned before, I tried to add a little bit more color to my wardrobe and pick some items that I normally wouldn’t pick. The red playsuit above is one of those items and I’m actually really really happy with it.

// three coats

For coats, I have chose 3 this season. Both the leather and the denim jacket are an absolute staple in every wardrobe and they go with every single one of my outfits. The slightly longer black suede coat on the right was a birthday present from my parents and I’m completely in love with it. It’s incredibly comfortable to wear, it feels super soft and I can just throw it over any outfit in my capsule wardrobe.

// six shoes

And the last compartment of the capsule wardrobe is shoes. Again, I made sure that my shoes would go with all of my other items. Aside from that, i just picked the shoes that I wear the most, so the pairs that are the most comfortable to wear.

This is my second season using the capsule wardrobe and I have to say, I still have to get used to the system. There are some parts that I really really like about the principle, such as having a complete overview of what’s in your closet and being able to make new and original combinations with familiar items. Having a complete overview has also made me realize what is still missing in my closet or what I could change, which I personally really like. Finally, the capsule wardrobe system preaches that it should not be necessary to shop in-between seasonal wardrobe switches – I’m just not sure if that’s really something for me. I just really like to shop and to find new items and if I happen to find those outside of my wardrobe switches, I don’t want to be restricted by the capsule wardrobe system – I just want to buy them.

Love,

autograph

Featured image: http://www.hercampus.com

Leave a Reply

