Pinkpop Festival 2015 // Five Must-See Artists

This year will be the fifth time I visit Pinkpop Festival in Landgraaf, The Netherlands. Every time, I discover new places to eat, new bands and faster routes from the camping to the showers.

Pinkpop was the first festival I ever visited (when I was 11 years old, with my Dad!) and it will be the first in my row of festivals this month. In just a couple of hours (yes! yes! yes!), I will be kicking off my personal festival season, with these five must-see artists:

1. Placebo

A couple of weeks ago, it was announced that Sam Smith had to cancel his show because of illness. Online forums and social media were colored with either disappointment or relief, but one single, burning question was raised: who would replace him? A couple of days later, the organization of the festival announced one of my favorite bands would take Sam Smith’s place on the program: Placebo.

2. Muse

For both Muse and me, 2015 will be our fifth anniversary of visiting Pinkpop. But this year, Muse will return to Landgraaf with their latest album, Drones (read my album review here!). Rumor has it, the band will use actual drones during their live performance…

3. Kovacs

She appeared out of nowhere: Dutch artist Kovacs. I have been in love with her track “My Love” ever since I heard it a couple of months ago and I am very curious to see how she conveys the raw emotion of her music on stage.

4. Foo Fighters

A long time ago, my mother introduced me to Foo Fighters and I have been enjoying their music ever since. This year will be the second time I will see the rock band perform live, but Dave Grohl and his consorts play with such an irresistible energy and passion that a Foo Fighters show never gets old.

5. Selah Sue

The tiny girl with the big hairdo and even bigger voice: that is Belgium singer-songwriter Selah Sue. In 2010, she opened for Prince and one year later, she released her first album. I have loved her sound ever since and now I get the chance to see her performing live.

Some practical information:

Pinkpop Festival takes places in Landgraaf, The Netherlands on June 12 until June 14, 2015. Week-end tickets are completely sold out, but there are still day tickets available for Friday June 12 (with artists such as Muse, Elbow and George Ezra). You can buy those here.

Love,

autograph

Leave a Reply

